search videos
Spoilers are On
Guest
Home
Upload video
Europa League Preview - Tottenham vs Lyon
Got something to say?   Write for Soccerclips!

Tottenham Hotspur v Lyon Preview - Can Spurs Kill Off the Tie?

By dt on February 14th, 2013 in Miscellaneous 17 comments
Match Preview
Tottenham Hotspur v Lyon
UEFA Europa League White Hart Lane, London
Thursday 14 February, 2013 20:05 GMT


Tottenham have been handed a difficult tie against French giants Lyon after failing to win their group ahead of Lazio. Lyon have home advantage in the second leg so will be looking to absorb the pressure throughout this tie and take an away goal back home for the second leg. Tottenham Hotspur Preview Tottenham are one of the form sides in the Premier League and the current holders of fourth place. They have lost only two matches at home in the league all season, taking points from seven wins and four draws. They have conceded only 13 goals at home which is fewer than Manchester United. While Tottenham aren't outright football betting favourites - you can check the latest match odds here, they have a decent chance of winning the tie in the first leg with their high pressing game and often irresistible movement up front, even without any strikers.


Injuries and Suspensions


Younes Kaboul and Sandro will definitely not feature in this match as both are carrying long term problems. Jermain Defoe is unlikely to play as he recovers from an ankle problem that he picked up during the recent match away at West Brom. Otherwise Spurs are fully fit. Spurs are odds on at 4/5 to win this match. Lyon Preview Lyon are sat second behind PSG in Ligue 1 thanks to five wins, three draws and two defeats on the road. They get the job done despite not having an impressive record of 15 goals scored and 13 conceded which is not even close to that of the league leaders. Lyon won their Europa League group by seven points.


Injuries and
Suspensions

Lyon are sweating over the fitness of Bakary Kone and Jimmy Briand but otherwise they have a fully fit squad of players to choose from. Bafetimbi Gomis is set to start up front, giving him the chance to effectively show off in a country where several players are interested in him. If you think a French upset is possible then you can get odds of 10/3. Tottenham Hotspur v Lyon Statistics Spurs didn’t lose a single game during the group stage despite finishing second. They secured three wins and drew all of their other matches to qualify. They conceded just four goals throughout their group games. Lyon dropped points in only one game which importantly for Spurs, came away from home. They conceded six goals in three away games but managed to score eight to leave them with a goal difference of plus two.


Head to Head: Tottenham hosted Lyon on just the single occasion in the past, which was the 1967/1968 Cup Winners Cup. The first leg at White Hart Lane ended 4-3 before Lyon won the second leg 1-0 and went through on away goals. Recent Form Spurs have been perfect through February with wins in both of their games so far. This eradicates the memory of a poor run at the back end of January that saw them draw three games and lose one. Lyon by contrast are not in great form having suffered back-to-back defeats so far this month. They were much better in the league through January with two wins and a draw and they won their last Europa League match last December. Tottenham Hotspur v Lyon Prediction It’s difficult to see anything other than a home win in this match. Spurs are not badly hampered by injuries and they have several in form players who can take this tie away from Lyon quickly.


Tottenham Hotspur 2-0 Lyon. You can get odds of 9/1 from the bookmakers on spurs winning 2-0.
By dt on February 14th, 2013 in Miscellaneous

Tottenham Hotspur v Lyon Preview - Can Spurs Kill Off the Tie?
17 responses
LynetteMercer
16 Feb, 2013
That is known that cash makes us autonomous. But how to act if one has no money? The one way is to try to get the home loans or consolidation loan.
Jongkyu
16 Mar, 2013
what a dumb question.your prabobly from a place like northern ireland where theres more whites then any other colour. what an ignorant question.we have alot of jewish in north london.
wrzeswda
18 Mar, 2013
NIvLLT , [url=http://sxlrqqtmvsnv.com/]sxlrqqtmvsnv[/url], [link=http://xqcumooolrnm.com/]xqcumooolrnm[/link], http://tudgappxswit.com/
tmjnigve
20 Mar, 2013
gquxDx , [url=http://ikcorhfqemsz.com/]ikcorhfqemsz[/url], [link=http://dsbljzxyttuq.com/]dsbljzxyttuq[/link], http://fsjbvukktsfg.com/
Kerriann
20 Apr, 2013
You coduln't pay me to ignore these posts!
Janese
22 Apr, 2013
That's way more cevler than I was expecting. Thanks!
Rita
22 Apr, 2013
This is both sertet smart and intelligent.
dfoerec
25 Apr, 2013
zrvUh0 , [url=http://eoklyutxbaey.com/]eoklyutxbaey[/url], [link=http://hvhqnckmvpxs.com/]hvhqnckmvpxs[/link], http://jmhxwdltprha.com/
Diksha
6 Jul, 2013
Bonjour suite e0 votre article paru dans hoytphe8ses.org au sujet de la PSHE en Angleterre paru en 2009 , j'aurai souhaite9 vous demander votre avis personnel sur le sujet. Je suis e0 la recherche d'une personne pouvant me renseigner sur la question puisque je m'inte9resse e0 l'e9ducation e0 la sante9 en Angleterre . Je suis en premie8re anne9e de master e9ducation et formation , je re9alise un compte rendu sur ce sujet et je voudrais avoir un avis si possible En espe9rant que vous puissiez m'e9clairerBien cordialementA.Millart
Jhon
6 Jul, 2013
Deji, I love the pictures. You made our day look so beuftiual. Everyone keeps commenting on how great the pictures came out. Thank you and keep up the good work. http://qaqnnihbu.com [url=http://mlugjypil.com]mlugjypil[/url] [link=http://sjuluynp.com]sjuluynp[/link]
Jhonatas
7 Jul, 2013
Grandpa, The times and story's we shared will forveer live on in my memories. Through those you inspired me to serve my country and taught me that hard work has its rewards. Also learned a little German staying up late watching old war movies with you. You gave me the building blocks to build my life on and now they are the foundation for who I am. You will forveer live on in my thoughts and dreams.Your TigerSirre
Dick
8 Jul, 2013
what a dumb question.your prlbaboy from a place like northern ireland where theres more whites then any other colour. what an ignorant question.we have alot of jewish in north london. http://oiwldx.com [url=http://ucqndfdt.com]ucqndfdt[/url] [link=http://ezkcrc.com]ezkcrc[/link]
Eru
9 Oct, 2013
You met Natalie Norton?!? You are sooooo lucky! I LOVE her! I stetard following her a couple of months ago when her baby was sick. That has been such a hard thing for her to go through. She's amazingly strong though and very inspiring. I love her photography and I read her 10 most deadly a couple of weeks ago and was laughing my head off, especially at the radio-active eyes! So true! And I'm sure I'm guilty of some if not all. S
Kimaya
11 Oct, 2013
The things i have obversed in terms of personal computer memory is always that there are specs such as SDRAM, DDR etc, that must match the specifications of the motherboard. If the computer's motherboard is fairly current and there are no os issues, modernizing the memory space literally requires under an hour. It's on the list of easiest personal computer upgrade methods one can picture. Thanks for spreading your ideas.
Aman
12 Oct, 2013
yeh, im doing a Software Development course in cgelloe and its harder than i anticipated, so ive been short of time, but im getting used to programming and animation now so im getting more free time, ive done lots of the actual career just havnt wrote the posts yet, despite not posting much, im always on here reading blogs such as yours, and must say i love your blog, its the one i read the most, and i shall try my best now to become a regular poster, hopefully i can get at least 3 posts a week, that will be good for me
Priya
12 Oct, 2013
These fabrics look like so much fun, can't wait to see what you did with them. Yes, evaydrey is a great day. I recently was at a workshop and they brought in a motivational speaker, the core of his presentation was we have a choice and to choose happiness. I work with a man like this and I treasure every hour our schedules overlap. http://qjxooxapgf.com [url=http://kjsvrwcluz.com]kjsvrwcluz[/url] [link=http://lzozkjv.com]lzozkjv[/link]
Acey
14 Oct, 2013
Aww Thanks man, its an honour to be in your new cosequnt (not really a cosequnt, didnt no what else to say lol) yeh i hope i get more recognised, just installed windows live writer to show i mean business lol. no idea how to use it properly though . But thank you http://jwvdiaqs.com [url=http://zsuldxqwod.com]zsuldxqwod[/url] [link=http://mkecjwuib.com]mkecjwuib[/link]
Add new comment
Name *
Email
Your comment *1000 characters left
Refresh
Refresh image
Play
Retype the code: